Affective Neuroscience for Coaches!

We offer a programme to give coaches and consultants an introduction to the latest development in affective neuroscience. It will include case material.

It is theory emerging from affective neuroscience about the emotional brain, which represents a new development within the psychology of emotions and psychoanalysis.

A New Venture

Building on this new research, we will teach and discuss cases based on affective neuroscience and the “emotional brain”. During the last 2-3 years, neuroscience on emotion and drive has matured and may now be applied to leadership and the coaching process. It is based on 20 years of research, testing psychoanalytic ideas and theories in the laboratory.

The psychology of the emotional brain considers primary and hard-wired emotions to be the building blocks of more complex emotions, such as envy and guilt, hyper-competition and narcissistic needs. In addition to these, primary processes such as care, bonding, playfulness and fear are all important in work roles, leadership and for the coaching process. We will pay particular attention to leadership and use client cases throughout.

For coaches, it affords the development of new insights, approaches and interventions.

Aim

– Knowledge of each of the seven drives and how they are interlinked.

– Identification of the feeling a coaching client struggles with.

– Analysis of the main emotions and needs sought in different roles and situations.

– Coaching, or offering assistance with and raising awareness of repetition, or prediction errors.

– Helping clients strategise the complexity of several needs.

Programme

Over five weeks, participants will be introduced to each drive and work with cases to illustrate them. Each lecture or study-group will last 2 hours and will be led by Dr. Gry Osnes.

The series concludes with three 3-hour sessions with Prof. Mark Solms, over a weekend

There will be a maximum of 12 participants.

Owing to present restrictions on physical engagement, all courses will take place over the internet.

Details regarding the technology used for the conference to be communicated nearer the time. If you have any technical difficulty with video conferencing, please get in touch with support@c-lan.org for solutions.

The details and topics of the programme are as follows:

1. Introduction to drives and hard-wired emotions

5 sessions, 120 min (10 hours)

There will be a mixture of theory and examination of cases to illustrate each drive.

The original initial session has been merged into the fourth session, on 21st June. Specific details of the changes will be made available to participants by email

(i). 1st June 16:00-18:00 BST (15:00 GMT, 08:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 20:30 IST, 23:00 CST)
Re-scheduled, see session (iv) below

(ii). 7th June 16:00-18:00 BST (15:00 GMT, 08:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 20:30 IST, 23:00 CST)
Safety and change. Attachment (PANIC-GRIEF), CARE – Prof. Victoria Grady

(iii). 14th June 16:00-18:00 BST (15:00 GMT, 08:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 20:30 IST, 23:00 CST)
Two drives: FEAR and RAGE, Hot and Cold Anger – Prof. Claudia Nagel

(iv) a. 21st June 16:00-18:00 BST (15:00 GMT, 08:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 20:30 IST, 23:00 CST)
SEEKING* and Curiosity. Dreaming – Dr. Gry Osnes

(iv) b. 21st June 18:30-20:30 BST (17:30 GMT, 10:30 PDT, 13:30 EDT, 23:00 IST, 01:30 CST on 22nd June)
PLAY and playfulness – Dr. Gry Osnes

(v). 28th June 16:00-18:00 BST (15:00 GMT, 08:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 20:30 IST, 23:00 CST)
LUST and summation of the drives – Dr. Joseph Dodds


2. Consciousness and defences, cases

Mark Solms in three intensive modules. 3 sessions, 4 hours each (12 hours, with breaks)

Running between 2nd and 4th, July 2021. Times may vary to align participant and faculty needs.

Friday 2nd 13:40-16:30 BST (12:40 GMT, 05:40 PDT, 08:40 EDT, 18:10 IST, 20:40 CST)

Saturday 3rd 13:40-16:30 BST (12:40 GMT, 05:40 PDT, 08:40 EDT, 18:10 IST, 20:40 CST)

Sunday 4th 13:40-16:30 BST (12:40 GMT, 05:40 PDT, 08:40 EDT, 18:10 IST, 20:40 CST)

If Sunday becomes a difficult day due to intensity or travel from ISPSO conference it may be moved forward or to a later date.

Participants will have the opportunity to bring a client or leadership case for exploration. There will be room for 4-6 cases.

The theory presented will build on the earlier lectures while presenting a new paradigm on the conscious ID, defences, and memory and predictive error.

(i) Memory and consciousness

(ii) EGO, prediction error and defences

(iii) Four participant cases

Reading List

The workshop draws on chapters from “Archaeology of the Mind” by Panksepp and Solms “The Feeling Brain”. References will be made to Panksepp’s other books, assorted articles and online lectures.

Cost

£750 GBP per attendee

Book now to secure your place: Booking Page

One may negotiate the time of payment, as many will have less predictable client work at the present time.

Total duration: 22 hours.

Maximum 12 participants.

Contact Paula Barkay <paula@c-lan.org> or <gry@c-lan.org> for information and registration.

Discount

Please note: Participants planning to attend the Professional Development Workshop (PDW) held by Osnes & Solms at the ISPSO conference in Berlin this year, will be entitled to a discount for the C-LAN course.

The ISPSO conference may be attended to virtually or physically by travel to Berlin. On July 5th, Osnes & Solms will explore client work with new and old owners, leaders such as entrepreneurs and family businesses. It will include pre-work that this course would cover and a further opportunity to discuss a client case.