The Emotional Brain in the Therapy Room

We offer a programme building upon Affective Neuroscience and Role Analysis for application in the therapy room.

The programme runs over two long weekends in Spring and will include lectures that present theory and cases, including own participants cases. It will have a maximum of 12 participants.

A New Venture

We offer a programme for competent psychoanalysts and therapists with a basic grasp of affective neuroscience (also known as neuro-psychoanalysis).

Representing a new direction in psychoanalytic thinking, based on affective neuroscience, we address how the therapeutic process can assist a client with their roles, and how to develop a new class of clients.

As an introduction into this application of psychodynamics theory, we have built a programme to demonstrate how to work with roles and organisational issues from the therapy room.

Introduction to Role Analysis and Systems Insights

You will be introduced to role analysis and how it is applied within coaching, or role analysis techniques, within systems psychodynamics. The field of systems psychodynamics initially arose from the Tavistock Institute, in order to work with clients in their roles in social systems such as their workplace, or within voluntary activities.

A new turn in Systems Psychodynamic Application and Theory

Historically the Tavistock Institute, building upon Bion and Miller, et al, has worked in the junction between systems and the individual, known as systems-psychodynamic theory. It relies principally on the old notions of the unconscious and fails to include the latest discoveries within affective neuroscience. Many practitioners within systems psychodynamics would be working within an organisation or coaching from the therapy room; this is often called “Role Analysis”. Usually, sessions run longer than 50 minutes and fees are relatively higher.

What we offer will be a new turn in this tradition where psychoanalysis is applied to the understanding of formal, informal and deep roles and how one is both in a situation of sublimation, but also in conflict with the allocation of roles in social systems and in the workplace.

The approach involves applying the new findings within affective neuroscience to systems psychodynamics.

Faculty

The faculty members are as follows: Dr. Joseph Dodds, Liv Hök (Psychol.), Prof. Claudia Nagel, Prof. Victoria Grady and Prof. Mark Solms.

Pre-qualifications

We would expect credentials for having worked with affective neuroscience. That could be in the attendance to NPSA conferences, a master class with Mark Solms or one of the NPSA online courses.

We hope to be able to use recordings from a course in affective leadership for coaches as a resource for the group to explore the primary affects, or drives, within affective neuroscience.

On July 5th, Osnes & Solms will explore client work with new and old owners, leaders such as entrepreneurs and family businesses.

Programme

The programme will take place over 22 hours within a two-month time period.

Owing to present restrictions on physical engagement, all courses will take place over the internet.

Details regarding the technology used for the conference to be communicated nearer the time. If you have any technical difficulty with video conferencing, please get in touch with support@c-lan.org for solutions.

First weekend: 23-25 April

Friday 23rd, April

16:00-18:00 BST (15:00 GMT, 08:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 20:30 IST, 23:00 CST)
Intro and organization in the mind drawing – Dr. Gry Osnes, Dr. Joseph Dodds, Liv Hök (Psychol.)

Saturday 24th, April

09:00-11:00 BST (08:00 GMT, 01:00 PDT, 04:00 EDT, 13:30 IST, 16:00 CST)
Role Analysis 1 – Dr. Gry Osnes, Dr. Joseph Dodds, Liv Hök (Psychol.)

12:00-14:00 BST (11:00 GMT, 04:00 PDT, 07:00 EDT, 16:30 IST, 19:00 CST)
Role Analysis 2 – Dr. Gry Osnes, Dr. Joseph Dodds, Liv Hök (Psychol.)

Sunday 25th, April

09:00-11:00 BST (08:00 GMT, 01:00 PDT, 04:00 EDT, 13:30 IST, 16:00 CST)
Negotiating a role analysis-coaching process – Prof. Claudia Nagel

11:45-13:15 BST (10:45 GMT, 03:45 PDT, 06:45 EDT, 16:15 IST, 18:45 CST)
Prof. Mark Solms

14:00-15:30 BST (13:00 GMT, 06:00 PDT, 09:00 EDT, 18:30 IST, 21:00 CST)
Prof. Mark Solms

Second weekend: 5-6 June

Saturday 5th, June

09:00-11:00 BST (08:00 GMT, 01:00 PDT, 04:00 EDT, 13:30 IST, 16:00 CST)
Social Defences in Organisations – Prof. Claudia Nagel

12:00-14:00 BST (11:00 GMT, 04:00 PDT, 07:00 EDT, 16:30 IST, 19:00 CST)
Loss and mourning in organisational change processes and attachment profiles in leaders – Prof. Victoria Grady

Sunday 6th, June

09:00-11:00 BST (08:00 GMT, 01:00 PDT, 04:00 EDT, 13:30 IST, 16:00 CST)
Authority and Power in Organisations. Trust – Dr. Gry Osnes

11:45-13:15 BST (10:45 GMT, 03:45 PDT, 06:45 EDT, 16:15 IST, 18:45 CST)
Prof. Mark Solms

14:00-15:30 BST (13:00 GMT, 06:00 PDT, 09:00 EDT, 18:30 IST, 21:00 CST)
Prof. Mark Solms

It may be divided differently if the group agrees to do so.

Cost

£650 GBP per attendee

Book now to secure your place: Booking Page

Please note: Participants planning to attend the Professional Development Workshop (PDW) held by Osnes & Solms at the ISPSO conference in Berlin this year, will be entitled to a discount for this course.

One may negotiate the time of payment, as many will have less predictable client work at the present time.

Total duration: 22 hours.

Maximum 12 participants.

Contact Paula Barkay <paula@c-lan.org>, for information and registration.